University of Florida Homepage


2018 Award Winners: Taryn Boyer(L) and Matthew Riedi(R)

The UF Political Campaigning program gives out two awards annually to its top students. The Walter G. Campbell Leadership Award honors the best overall student in the Political Campaigning program and the Ralph Gonzalez Independent Spirit Award is given in memory of former campaigning student Ralph Gonzales and recognizes the campaigning student that best embodies Ralph’s truly unique spirit. Recent past recipients of these awards are:


YearWalter C. Campbell Leadership AwardRalph Gonzalez Independent Spirit Award
2018Taryn BoyerMatthew Riedi
2017Alex PattonWilliam England
2016Kevin GersonElizabeth Hyatt
2015Joel MendelsonAnsley Tuten
2014Kenton NgoDaniel Dean
2013Christina BarkerSamantha Sexton
2012Hollie SleesemanBrendon Rivard
2011Heather HicksBrian Kirchberg
2010Amanda SengMeredith Johnson
2009Christine Bainer
2008Ashley Ellis
2007TJ Harrington
2007Katy Smallwood
2006Jeanette Materio
2005 Nicole Jarnes
2004Elizabeth Christie
2003Tracey Sticco
2002Michael Luthey
2000N. Lee Concha